Chiang Khan consists of two 1-mile (2-km) long parallel streets running along the south bank of the Mekong River and lined with run-down teakwood shop-houses, restaurants, and temples. Those temples most worth a visit are Wat Santi, Wat Pa Klang, built over 100 years ago by Lao immigrants, Wat Si Khun Muang, Wat Tha Kok, and Wat Mahathat. The latter is the oldest temple in Chiang Khan, its bot having been built in 1654. Like Wat Tha Kok, it shows French colonial influence in its colonnades and shutters. Wat Tha Khok has a beautiful, painted ceiling. Its exterior walls are stained red, like the river, from dust. This possibly stems from deforestation in nearby Laos, which exposes the local red topsoil.
Located 1 mile (2 km) farther east from Wat Tha Kok along the Mekong River is Wat Tha Khaek. Neglected for years, this temple is now undergoing major reconstruction in a mixture of traditional and modern styles. A further 1 mile (2 km) down river are the scenic Kaeng Kut Khu rapids.